What is the National Animal of Bolivia?

National Animal of Llama

Llama – Bolivia national animal

The national animal of Bolivia is Llama which is found in different part of Bolivia. Its scientific name is Lama Glama. It is a camelid and belongs to the South American Camel family. The Llamas can be found in all parts of Bolivia, including the highlands and lowlands, grasslands as well as forests.

They are used as pack animals to carry goods across mountainous terrain. It lives near the Andes mountain range and preferes dry, rocky regions. Llamas are domesticated for their wool and meat.

Scientific Classification

LlamaSpecies: L. glama
Class: Mammalia
Family: Camelidae
Order: Artiodactyla


The habitats where Llamas live include grassland and mountain slopes, but they can also be found in deserts and coastal plains. There are more than one million llamas in South America, mostly in Peru and Bolivia.

Uses of Llama

The animal Llama is also used as a source of wool, meat and milk. Its meat provides good protein content and its milk contains vitamin C and fat.

Physical Description

It is a domestic animal and belongs to the Camel family. The body of a llama is covered with long, coarse hair. It has a small head and thin lips. Its ears are short and erect and its tail is short. The front legs are longer than its hind legs, which help it to balance while moving around on rough terrains.

The height of the average adult llama is 1.7 to 1.8 m (5.6 to 5.9 ft) at the top of the head, and it can weigh between 100 and 140 kg (220 to 310 lb). At birth, a llama may weigh between 9 and 11 kilograms (20 and 24 lb). Llamas are very intelligent and can learn simple tasks after a few repetitions. When using a pack, they can carry about 25% of their body weight for 8 to 13 km (5 to 8 miles).

9 Fun Facts about Llama

  1. Llama is the official national animal & symbol of Bolivia.
  2. The name “llama” comes from the Quechua word “llama“, which means “wool” (because they produce wool).
  3. Llamas are native to South America, particularly in Peru and Chile but they are also found in Argentina and Bolivia.
  4. Llamas can be trained for riding and carrying loads on their backs.
  5. They can also be used as guard animals for crops because they are territorial and protective by nature.
  6. Llamas are domesticated animals and their fur is used for making blankets and clothing.
  7. Llamas are herbivores, so they only eat plants like grasses or leaves off trees rather than meat like cows or pigs do; therefore they don’t need much water or food to survive unlike other farm animals such as cattle, sheep etc…
  8. Llamas can run at up to 40 miles per hour, which makes them the fastest land animal around their size.
  9. The average life span of a llama is 25 to 30 years and they grow to be about 5’6″ tall at their shoulders.

Why is Llama the national animal of Bolivia?

Four reasons why llama was chosen as Bolivia’s national animal are the following:

First, The llama is one of the most important livestock animals in Bolivia and it is used as a pack animal. It plays an important role in transporting goods from one place to another.

Second, the llama is a symbol of strength and resilience, as well as physical endurance. The llama can carry heavy loads for long distances and is also known for its ability to withstand high altitudes.

Third, the llama is an important animal in Bolivian culture. It has been used for centuries in weaving textiles and providing meat and milk products, as well as serving a religious role in some indigenous Andean cultures.

Fourth, the llama is an important part of Bolivia’s economy today. It has become one of the country’s most lucrative exports after petroleum, with over 700 million dollars worth being exported each year. So due to all these facts, Llama become the Bolivia’s national animal and emblem of the country.