What is the national Tree of England?

The national tree of England (UK) is OAK. It is a great Britains best-known tree and the most favorite. It is the most common tree in England. It is beautiful and can grow upto 40 meters in height.

This tree is used in various construction work, architecture and doors etc. It has the hardest woods and is widely used in many other construction, homes, factory & furniture work. This tree is about 150 years old since then people also using it as firewood. The tree shrinks when it grows very old.

There are different OAKS trees to be found in Great Britain, and one of the favorite places to see a great collection of such trees is Blenheim Palace in Oxfordshire. There are various types of oaks, study found there are sixty of them with diameters of around 9 meters.

There are two common types of OAKs trees in England. The native oaks in Britain, the English Oak  and the Sessile Oak

Facts about OAKS the national tree of England (UK)
Common names: English oak, pedunculate oak
Scientific name: Quercus robur
Family: Fagaceae
Origin: native
Identified in Winter: By rounded buds in clusters. Each bud has more than three scales.
Leaves: Around 10cm long with 4–5 deep lobes with smooth edges. Leaf-burst occurs mid-May and the leaves have almost no stem and grow in bunches.
Flowers: Long, yellow hanging catkins which distribute pollen into the air.

Why is OAKs the national tree of England ?
The ruling majesty of the woods, the wise old English oak holds a special place in our culture, history, and hearts. It supports more life than any other native tree species in the UK; even its fallen leaves support biodiversity. Due to all the above facts OAKs becomes the official and national tree of England UK.